CO-PRESIDENTS

Mani Shankar Aiyar MP, India Saber H Chowdhury MP, Bangladesh Senator Salwa Damen-Masri, Jordan Paul Dewar MP, Canada Natalia Díaz Quintana MP, Costa Rica Phil Goff MP, New Zealand Bill Kidd MP, Scotland Mi-Kyung Lee MP, Republic of Korea Senator Ed Markey, United States Baroness Sue Miller, United Kingdom Christine Muttonen MP, Austria Marit Nybakk MP, Norway Senator Laura Rojas-Hernandez, Mexico

COUNCIL MEMBERS

Senator Byrganym Aitimova, Kazakshtan Michael Arce Sancho MP. Costa Rica Aytuğ Atıcı MP, Turkey Abul Kalam Azad, Bangladesh Agnieszka Brugger MdB, Germany Senator Tony de Brum, Marshall Islands Blaine Calkins MP, Canada Jeremy Corbyn MP. United Kingdom Senator Michelle Demessine, France Linda Duncan MP, Canada Abdullah Ensour MP, Jordan Ute Finckh-Krämer MdB, Germany Alain Ficini MP, Monaco Barbara Gysi MP, Switzerland Sul Hoon MP, Republic of Korea Senator Yasin Husban, Jordan Birgitta Jónsdóttir MP, Iceland Marianne Malak Kamal MP, Egypt Mayeen Uddin Khan Badal MP, Bangladesh Roderich Kiesewetter MP, Germany Dov Khenin MP. Israel Shoichi Kondo MP, Japan Caroline Lucas MP, UK Dirk van der Maelen MP, Belgium Christa Markwalder MP, Switzerland Awwad Masaeed, Jordan Holger Nielsen MP. Denmark Senator Hassan abu Nimeh. Jordan Senator David Norris, Ireland State Senator Nan Orrock, Georgia, USA Giorgi Pirinski MEP, Bulgaria Shane Reti MP. New Zealand Michele Rivasi MEP. France Viktor Rogalev MP, Kazakhstan François De Rugy MP, France Senator Mushahid Sayed, Pakistan Torstein Tvedt Solberg, Norway Harry Van Bommel. Netherlands Jaroslav Walesa MEP. Poland

PNND HONORARY MEMBERS

Helen Clark, New Zealand Laura Chinchilla, Costa Rica Ui-Hwa Chung MP, Republic of Korea Federica Mogherini, Italy

PNND SPECIAL REPRESENTATIVE Roméo Dallaire, Canada

ADVISER INTER-PARLIAMENTARY

ORGANISATIONS

Uta Zapf MP, Germany, PNND Past-President

PAST PRESIDENTS

Abacca A. Maddison, Marshall Isl. Raphael Chegeni, Tanzania Tarja Cronberg, Finland Senator David Coltart, Zimbabwe Senator Rosario Green, Mexico Hideo Hiraoka, Japan Marian Hobbs, New Zealand Sergei Kolesnikov, Russia Taro Kono MP, Japan Alexa McDonough, Canada Douglas Roche, Canada Richard Tuheiava. France

PARLIAMENTARY PARTNER NETWORKS

Christer Winbäck, Parliamentary Forum on Small Arms and Light Weapons

ALUMNI COUNCIL MEMBERS Senator Lvn Allison. Australia

Senator Alena Gajduskova, Czech Rep. Edine von Herold, Costa Rica Tonis Koiv MP, Estonia Rudolph Rechsteiner, Switzerland Anwar El Sadat, Egypt Maryan Street MP, New Zealand

_

iversal non-

March 28, 2016

Sustainable nuclear security requires universal nonproliferation controls and nuclear disarmament measures

Open Letter from

Parliamentarians for Nuclear Non-proliferation and Disarmament to the 4th Nuclear Security Summit, Washington DC, March 31-April 1, 2016

Dear Head of State - Delegates to the Nuclear Security Summit,

We welcome the forthcoming Nuclear Security Summit scheduled for March 31 – April 1 in Washington DC and thank you for attending.

The existence of bomb-grade nuclear materials creates the risk of the fabrication and use of a nuclear weapon or radiological ('dirty') bomb. Any such use would have catastrophic humanitarian and environmental consequences, causing immeasurable suffering. This must be prevented.

We are heartened by the spirit and practice of cooperation on behalf of all humanity exhibited by heads of state and governments through the Nuclear Security Summits and follow-up actions to secure nuclear materials.

We commend President Obama for initiating this effort following his historic speech in Hradcany Square, Prague on April 9, 2009. And we commend the USA, South Korea, and the Netherlands for hosting the four Nuclear Security Summits.

However, sustainable nuclear security requires a similar high level effort to implement the other key focus of President Obama's Prague speech – the peace and security of a nuclear-weapon-free world. Only by abolishing nuclear weapons will we eliminate the risk of nuclear weapons being used by a terrorist – or a state – whether by accident, miscalculation or madness.

We believe that nuclear disarmament is a *global common good* which requires efforts at every level – local, national, regional and global – to be achieved.

We therefore strongly urge you to pledge at the Nuclear Security Summit to support a similar high level process for nuclear disarmament.

Head Office

C/o Basel Peace Office Sociology Seminary Petersgraben 27 CH-4051 Basel, Switzerland +41 788 912 156 info@pnnd.org

United Nations Office

866 UN Plaza Suite 4050 New York, NY 10017 United States of America Tel: +1 646 752 8702 info@pnnd.org

East Asian Office

Hiromichi Umebayashi Peace Depot, 1-30-27-4-1F Hiyoshi-honcho Kohoku-ku, Yokohama, 223-0062, Japan Tel: +81 45-563-5101 cxj15621@nifty.ne.jp

Coordinator Arab Countries

Mona Makhamreh P.O. Box 37, Amman Jordan 19152 Tel.: +962 79580-3022 muna@pnnd.org

Central European Coordinator

Jana Jedlickova U Dobrenskych 5, Prague, Czech Republic +420 775856879 jana@pnnd.org We commit to support such efforts in our respective legislatures, inter-parliamentary bodies and multi-constituent networks.

We attach in support A Nuclear-Weapon-Free World: Our Common Good, a joint statement of parliamentarians, mayors and religious leaders from around the world.

Yours sincerely,

PNND Co-Presidents:

Saber Chowdhury MP (Bangladesh)

President of the Inter Parliamentary Union

er (how dhury

Natalia Diaz Quintana MP (Costa Rica)

President, Foreign Affairs Committee

Bill Kidd MSP (Scotland)

Co-chair, Cross-Party Group on Nuclear Disarmament

Senator Salwa Damen Masri (Jordan)

Former Minister for Social Development

19.0

Christine Muttonen MP (Austria)

Vice-President, OSCE Parliamentary Assembly

Paul Dewar (Canada)

Former Opposition Spokesperson on Foreign Affairs

Phil Goff MP (New Zealand)

Former Defense Minister

Senator Edward Markey (USA)

Member, Senate Committee on Foreign Relations

Baroness Sue Miller (UK)

Member UK House of Lords

Senator Laura Rojas (Mexico)

President, Senate Committee on External Affairs

and International Organisations

PNND Council Members and Special Representatives:

Mohamed Anwar El Sadat MP (Egypt) Member Egypt House of Representatives

Human Rights Committee

Agnieszka Brugger MdB (Germany)

Spokesperson for Security Policy and Disarmament, Parliamentary Group BÜNDNIS 90/DIE GRÜNEN

Tarja Cronberg (Finland)

Chair, Middle Powers Initiative Former Chair, European Parliament Contact Group with Iran

Barbara Gysi MP (Switzerland)

Vice-President of the Finance Commission

Birgitta Jónsdóttir MP (Iceland)

Vice-Chair Movement 2010 Party

Douglas Roche O.C. (Canada)

PNND Founding Chairperson

Former Senator and Disarmament Ambassador

Christer Winbäck (Sweden)

Special Representative

Parliamentary Forum on Small Arms and Light Weapons

Prof Dr Aytug Atici MP (Turkey)

Member International Physicians for the Prevention of

Nuclear War (IPPNW)

Blaine Calkins MP (Canada)

MP. Led Der Lacorke

Co-Chair, PNND Canada

Ute Finally - Warner

Ute Finckh-Krämer MP (Germany)

Vice-Chair, Bundestag Subcommittee on Disarmament and Arms Control

larian h. Hobs

Marian Hobbs (New Zealand)

Former Minister for Disarmament and Arms Control

Prof Dr Andreas Nidecker (Switzerland)

President, Basel Peace Office (PNND Head Office)

Board Member, Physicians for Social Responsibility

Hon Johannes Raseriti Tau MP (South Africa)

Deputy Chair, National Council of the Provinces Former President, IPU Standing Committee on Peace and *International Security*