

PARLIAMENTARIANS FOR NUCLEAR NON-PROLIFERATION AND DISARMAMENT

# CO-PRESIDENTS

Mani Shankar Aiyar MP, India Saber H Chowdhury MP, Bangladesh Senator Salwa Damen-Masri, Jordan Paul Dewar MP, Canada Natalia Díaz Quintana MP, Costa Rica Phil Goff MP. New Zealand Bill Kidd MP. Scotland Mi-Kyung Lee MP, Republic of Korea Senator Ed Markey, United States Baroness Sue Miller, United Kingdom Christine Muttonen MP, Austria Marit Nybakk MP. Norway

### Senator Laura Rojas-Hernandez, Mexico COUNCIL MEMBERS

Senator Byrganym Aitimova, Kazakshtan Michael Arce Sancho MP. Costa Rica Aytuğ Atıcı MP, Turkey Abul Kalam Azad, Bangladesh Agnieszka Brugger MdB, Germany Senator Tony de Brum, Marshall Islands Blaine Calkins MP. Canada Jeremy Corbyn MP, United Kingdom Senator Michelle Demessine, France Linda Duncan MP, Canada Abdullah Ensour MP, Jordan Ute Finckh-Krämer MdB, Germany Alain Ficini MP, Monaco Barbara Gysi MP, Switzerland Sul Hoon MP. Republic of Korea Senator Yasin Husban, Jordan Birgitta Jónsdóttir MP, Iceland Marianne Malak Kamal MP, Egypt Mayeen Uddin Khan Badal MP, Bangladesh Roderich Kiesewetter MP. Germany Dov Khenin MP. Israel Shoichi Kondo MP, Japan Caroline Lucas MP. UK Dirk van der Maelen MP, Belgium Christa Markwalder MP, Switzerland Awwad Masaeed, Jordan Holger Nielsen MP. Denmark Senator Hassan abu Nimeh, Jordan Senator David Norris. Ireland State Senator Nan Orrock, Georgia, USA Giorgi Pirinski MEP, Bulgaria Shane Reti MP. New Zealand Michele Rivasi MEP, France Viktor Rogalev MP, Kazakhstan François De Rugy MP, France Senator Mushahid Sayed, Pakistan Torstein Tvedt Solberg, Norway Harry Van Bommel. Netherlands Jaroslav Walesa MEP, Poland

#### PNND HONORARY MEMBERS Helen Clark. New Zealand Laura Chinchilla, Costa Rica Ui-Hwa Chung MP, Republic of Korea Federica Mogherini, Italy

PNND SPECIAL REPRESENTATIVE Roméo Dallaire, Canada

ADVISER INTER-PARLIAMENTARY ORGANISATIONS Uta Zapf MP, Germany, PNND Past-President

# PAST PRESIDENTS

Abacca A. Maddison, Marshall Isl Raphael Chegeni, Tanzania Tarja Cronberg, Finland Senator David Coltart, Zimbabwe Senator Rosario Green, Mexico Hideo Hiraoka, Japan Marian Hobbs, New Zealand Sergei Kolesnikov, Russia Taro Kono MP Japan Alexa McDonough, Canada Douglas Roche, Canada Richard Tuheiava. France

PARLIAMENTARY PARTNER NETWORKS Christer Winbäck, Parliamentary Forum on Small Arms and Light Weapons

### ALUMNI COUNCIL MEMBERS Senator Lyn Allison, Australia Senator Alena Gajduskova, Czech Rep. Edine von Herold, Costa Rica Tonis Koiv MP. Estonia Rudolph Rechsteiner, Switzerland Anwar El Sadat, Egypt Maryan Street MP, New Zealand

# António Guterres

Former Prime Minister of Portugal and UN High Commissioner for Refugees Secretary-General elect of the United Nations United Nations, New York, USA

Your Excellency,

Parliamentarians for Nuclear Non-proliferation and Disarmament (PNND) congratulates you on your election as the next UN Secretary-General. We wish you all the best as you take up this position in January 2017.

Your election is testament to the skills you have demonstrated, the leadership you have taken and the vision you have put forward for the building of global peace, sustainable development and human security through the United Nations.

We note, in particular, your professional and successful leadership of UNHCR over a time of increasing demands and new challenges to this important UN agency.

We commend your approach of building cooperation between relevant UN agencies and political processes to address this, and other key international issues. Such cooperation is vital in an increasingly inter-connected world – where peace, disarmament, development, human rights and environmental protection overlap and impact on each other.

PNND highlights the specific connections between nuclear disarmament and the achievement of peace, security and the Sustainable Development Goals. The tensions exacerbated by nuclear threat postures prevent the global cooperation required to meet the SDGs. And the \$100 billion spent annually on maintaining and modernizing nuclear weapons systems is sorely needed to instead address climate change and fund the other SDGs.

We agree with your assertion that:

'The UN is the institutional expression of the international community, the cornerstone of our international system and the key actor of effective multilateralism. It is the essential instrument of member States to confront common challenges, manage shared responsibilities and exercise collective action, in an enduring quest for a peaceful, inclusive and sustainably developed world, in which international law and the dignity and worth of the human person are fully pursued.'

As such, PNND is a partner in UNFOLD ZERO, a global platform to promote UN initiatives for nuclear disarmament and UN mechanisms to resolve conflicts and achieve security without reliance on nuclear weapons, or on any threat or use of force.

Head Office C/o Basel Peace Office Sociology Seminary Petersgraben 27 CH-4051 Basel, Switzerland +41 788 912 156 info@pnnd.org

**United Nations Office** 866 UN Plaza Suite 4050 New York, NY 10017 United States of America Tel: +1 646 752 8702 info@pnnd.org

**East Asian Office** Hiromichi Umebayashi Peace Depot, 1-30-27-4-1F Hiyoshi-honcho Kohoku-ku, Yokohama, 223-0062, Japan Tel: +81 45-563-5101 cxj15621@nifty.ne.jp

Coordinator **Arab Countries** Mona Makhamreh P.O. Box 37, Amman Jordan 19152 Tel.: +962 79580-3022 muna@pnnd.org

**Central European** Coordinator Jana Jedlickova U Dobrenskych 5, Prague, Czech Republic +420 775856879 jana@pnnd.org

October 13, 2016

PNND has welcomed the positive cooperation with previous UN Secretary-Generals, including Mr Ban Ki-moon who made a special point of joining with us to encourage parliaments and parliamentarians to act for the peace and security of a nuclear-weapon-free world. We look forward to supporting your efforts in this regard during your term as UNSG.

Yours sincerely

1-1-5

Mani Shankar Aiyar (India) PNND Co-President Chair, Rajiv Gandhi Action Plan Group for a Nuclear-Weapon-Free World

Saker Chowdhury

Saber Chowdhury (Bangladesh) PNND Co-President President, Inter Parliamentary Union

Phil Goff (New Zealand) PNND Co-President Mayor of Auckland, Member Mayors for Peace

Bill Kidd (Scotland) PNND Co-President Chair, Cross-Party Group on Nuclear Disarmament In the Scottish Parliament

Christine Muttonen (Austria) PNND Co-President President, OSCE Parliamentary Assembly

Matalia Di

Natalia Diaz Quintana (Costa Rica) PNND Co-President Member, National Assembly Committee on Foreign Affairs

12. a.T.

Senator Salwa Damen Barakat (Jordan) PNND Co-President

Paul Dewar (Canada) PNND Co-President

Jonathan Granoff (USA) PNND Council Member President, Global Security Institute

Baroness Sue Miller (UK) PNND Co-President

Senator Laura Rojas (Mexico) PNND Co-President President, Senate Committee on External Relations and International Organisations

ahm va

Alyn Ware (New Zealand/Czech Republic) PNND Global Coordinator