Save the date! Friday December 5 in Vienna, Austria



Nuclear test in the Marshall Islands

Public Forum: The Marshall Islands' Nuclear Zero Lawsuits

Sean McBride Prize Ceremony: International Peace Bureau gives the prize to Tony de Brum, Foreign Minister of the Marshall Islands

On April 24th, 2014, the Marshall Islands filed landmark cases in the International Court of Justice against the nine nuclear-armed States, and in a U.S. Federal District Court against the United States. The Marshall Islands claims that the nuclear-armed nations have failed to comply with their legal obligations to negotiate in good faith for the global elimination of nuclear weapons.

Public Forum: 2 – 5:30 pm

With: **Tony de Brum** (Foreign Minister of the Marshall Islands) and **Phon van Den Biesen** (Attorney at Law) the Co-Agents before the International Court of Justice. And other law experts. *Sponsored by the International Association of Lawyers Against Nuclear Arms and the Nuclear Age Peace Foundation. Contact: John Burroughs* johnburroughs@lcnp.org



Tony de Brum



Sean McBride

Sean McBride Prize Ceremony: 7pm

The International Peace Bureau (IPB) will award the prestigious Sean MacBride Peace Prize to the Marshall Islands. The award is made in honour of Sean McBride, Co-founder of Amnesty International, Chairman of IPB (1968-74) and Nobel Peace Laureate (1974). Tony de Brum will receive the award on behalf of the Marshall Islands for its leadership in global efforts to highlight the catastrophic humanitarian consequences of nuclear weapons and abolish them. *Contact: Reiner Braun* <u>hr.braun@qmx.net</u>