PARLIAMENTARY NETWORK FOR NUCLEAR DISARMAMENT Engaging legislators worldwide in nuclear non-proliferation and disarmament initiatives

Election/appointment of PNND Co-Presidents

At the PNND International Meeting in Vancouver on 27 June 2006, the first Global Council of PNND was established. Senator Emeritus Douglas Roche was appointed as its Chair until the next PNND international meeting which will be the PNND Council meeting on 12 October 2007.

Senator Roche recommended that the position be replaced by a number of Co-Presidents from differing regions. This recommendation plus nominations for Co-Presidents will be put to the PNND Council Meeting. Co-Presidents shall be members of the PNND Global Council.

The roles and responsibilities of Co-Presidents include:

- To promote PNND and the role of parliamentarians in nuclear non-proliferation and disarmament
- To assist in building relationships between PNND and other relevant constituencies including government officials, diplomats and civil society
- To assist in raising funds for PNND and its programs
- To generally promote nuclear non-proliferation and disarmament

In April 2007 all PNND members were advised of the PNND Council Meeting on October 12 and invited to submit nominations for Co-President. Following consultations Senator Douglas Roche and Jonathan Granoff nominated a slate of five co-presidents:

Alexa McDonough MP, Canada Senator Abacca Anjain Maddison Marshall Islands Uta Zapf MP, Germany Hon Marian Hobbs MP, Aotearoa-New Zealand Mi-Kyung Lee MP, Republic of Korea